1, Classification of medical waste

There are many different types of medical waste, categorised by the types of materials and waste disposal methods. Generally, in the UK, medical waste is separated into hazardous and non-hazardous. In the US, there are four major types of medical waste: general, infectious, hazardous and radioactive.

Many of same types of medical waste have different names in different countries.

Medical waste is any waste that is generated as a by-product of healthcare work at doctor’s surgeries, dentists, hospitals and laboratories. It includes any material that could come into contact with the body during diagnosis, research, drug administration or any type of treatment.

It’s likely to be infectious, or potentially infectious, and is often contaminated with bodily fluids in some way – but the term can also be used to refer to general waste from any medical practice, as well as specific waste streams typically found in the medical industry.

2, Medical waste in the USA:

The EPA – Medical Waste Guidance defines and categories solid medical waste in the following ways.

1, General Waste – The bulk of most medical waste, mostly typical household and office waste

2, Infectious Waste – Any waste that could cause an infection in humans, like blood, human tissue or anything contaminated with bodily fluids

3, Hazardous Waste – Waste that’s dangerous, but not infectious, like sharps, discarded surgical equipment, and some chemical waste

4, Radioactive Waste – Any waste generated as a result of radioactive treatments, like cancer therapies, and medical equipment that uses nuclear elements.

3, Healthcare waste in the UK:

The UK government segregates the different types of medical waste into these categories:

1, Infectious Waste – Any waste generated from the treatment of individuals or contaminated with any infectious bodily fluids

2, Cytotoxic / Cytostatic Waste – Drugs and other types of medicine that are cytotoxic and/or cytostatic, or items that come into contact with any toxic or carcinogenic medicine.

3, Medicinal Waste – All types of medicine, pills and creams that are not cytotoxic and/or cytostatic

4, Anatomical Waste – All waste from a human or animal, including body parts, blood bags and organs

Offensive Waste – Any waste that’s non-infectious, including sanitary and nappy waste.

5, Domestic or Municipal – All other general, non-clinical waste

4, World Health Organisation (WHO) medical waste classifications:

The WHO has issued its own guidelines on the different types of medical , which include:

1, Infectious Waste – Anything that’s infectious or contaminated

2, Sharps – Waste like needles, scalpels, broken glass and razors

3, Pathological Waste – Human or animal tissue, body parts, blood and fluids

4, Pharmaceutical Waste – Unused and expired drug or medicines, like creams, pills, antibiotics

5, Genotoxic Waste – Cytotoxic drugs and other hazardous toxic waste, that’s carcinogenic, mutagenic or teratogenic.

6, Radioactive Waste – Any waste containing potentially radioactive materials

7, Chemical Waste – Liquid waste, typically from machines, batteries and disinfectants

8, General/Other Waste – All other, non-hazardous waste.

5, China Medical Waste Classifications:

1, Infectious Waste, code: 831-001-01

2, Sharps, code: 831-002-01

3, Pathological Waste, code: 831-003-01

4, Chemical Waste, code: 831-004-01

5, Pharmaceutical Waste, code: 831-005-01

6, Non- specific industry, to collect and disposal waste to avoid the animals infection.

Steam sterilization can dispose infectious waste, sharps and unrecognizable human tissue. Our MWT series integrated medical waste sterilizer with shredder can achieve this goal. The capacity is 50L~5000L and it can meet the small clinics, medium and big hospital’s requirements.

If you need more information, please contact with Sinicmed. Our sales person is always waiting to serve you.

Email: sales@sinicmed.com